The 2021 Formula DRIFT season culminated last weekend in Irwindale, CA with the 'TYPE S Title Fight' event selling out "The House of Drift" with record crowds and an unmatched energy. The final round of a well-fought season saw both TYPE S Ambassadors, Vaughn Gittin Jr. and Chelsea DeNofa, drive their hearts out with smiles on their faces, ultimately resulting in a 3rd place finish for Gittin Jr. while DeNofa ended up 4th. Falken's Odi Bakchis claimed the win of the event while Fredric Aasbo earned 2nd.

When the dust settled from the event weekend, Papadakis Racing's Fredric Aasbo of Norway had earned the 2021 Formula DRIFT Championship title while the RTR Motorsports team consisting of drivers Vaughn and Chelsea, claimed a respective 5th and 4th in the Championship.

"It was amazing to witness the TYPE S Title Fight for the second year in a row, and the first time with fans. Irwindale Speedway is not just the House of Drift, but the house that Vaughn built, and it was a fitting send off for him. We also reached the end of an era saying goodbye to Dai Yoshihara in his final FD event - best of luck to him, and congrats to Fredric Aasbo and the entire Papadakis team - we are excited for what next season will bring!,” said Jared Chavez, Sponsorship Marketing and Events Manager, Horizon Brands, LLC (TYPE S).

Arguably more impactful news than the Championship standings, however, was Vaughn's announcement that he will take a step back from the Formula DRIFT series in 2022 to focus on additional endeavors while growing RTR and his Fun Haver brand. Chelsea DeNofa will take the reigns as the lead driver in 2022 with additional news to follow!

This concludes the 2021 Formula DRIFT season. Stay tuned for more news!

TYPE S is a leading automotive aftermarket accessories manufacturer based in Costa Mesa, CA. With more than two decades of manufacturing and retail distribution experience, TYPE S specializes in innovating vehicle lighting, electronics, power products and soft goods.